This is the "Film Study Collection" page of the "Film Study Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Aspen May, Einstein Rainbow 9, 2009 Flaxman Library on Tumblr Flaxman Library's Bookmarks on delicious Flaxman Library on Facebook @saic_library on Twitter

Film Study Collection  

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.saic.edu/16mm Print Guide RSS Updates
Film Study Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 

Faculty use only

1 week advance notice for films/videos.

4 weeks advance notice for rentals.

 

Film List

 

16mm film study collection

 
Dog Star Man, Stan Brakhage 1961-64
  
 

Lucifer Rising, Kenneth Anger 1973
  

The 16mm Film Study Collection was begun by the Film Center (now the Gene Siskel Film Center) in the early 1970s as a collection of experimental films by living American artists. It was later moved to the School’s library to make it more accessible to faculty, and continues to be heavily used for teaching at SAIC. It is a growing collection that now contains several hundred reels of prints and working prints by filmmakers from around the globe, reflecting the School’s commitment to film as an art form. The Study Collection provides examples of a variety of film genres and movements: early Hollywood, experimental and avant-garde, Workers Film and Photo League, animation, contemporary independent filmmakers and more.

Ask Us

Profile Image
 
Contact Info
Carolyn Faber, FVNMA Liaison
Media Collections Manager
John M. Flaxman Library
School of the Art Institute of Chicago
37 S. Wabash, Suite 509
Chicago IL 60603
312.629.1341
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip