back to SAICWired.org
Source Images and Photo Sharing
- flickrUse advanced search to find flickr photos released under the creative commons license
- Google Images
- Creative CommonsProvides free licenses and other legal tools to mark creative work with the freedom the creator wants it to carry, so others can share, remix, use commercially...
- flickr apps User-created flickr apps = more fun with flickr!
- retrievrAn experimental service which lets you search and explore in a selection of Flickr images by drawing a rough sketch.
- Wikimedia CommonsA database of 3,091,240 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
- 25 Free Stock Photo Sites
Art image databases
- ARTstor Images of paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, photographs, and decorative arts from around the world. 95% of ARTstor images are 1024 pixels on the long side.
- CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)Currently contains images of over 88,000 works of art in all media and all eras
- Art Institute of Chicago CollectionSmall but growing portion of the Art Institute's permanent collection. Includes images and basic information about works of art representing all areas of the collection.
- Saskia Art Images Collection 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections. 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthisto
- CARLI Digital Collections Digital art images encompassing Western and Eastern civilizations.
- MDID (MacLean Visual Resources Center) Images for lectures at the School of the Art Institute. See MacLean Visual Resources Center/Slide Library for instructions and login.
- Oxford Art: Search Art Image LinksOffers encyclopedic coverage of all aspects of fine and applied arts, architecture, and artists and architects biographies.
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic NovelsFirst ever scholarly, primary source on adult comic books and graphic novels. Begins with the first underground comix (1960s) to the works of modern sequential artists, and contains more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, plus interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.
Creative Commons - Building on the Past

Loading Video/Audio Clip...
Images and Copyright
- Artists Rights Society: Copyright Basics
- Copyright and Art Issues
- Creative Commonsa nonprofit corporation dedicated to making it easier for people to share and build upon the work of others, consistent with the rules of copyright
- Flickr: Creative Commons
- Finding Images on the WebCreated by Boston University Libraries
- Copyright.gov
Ask Us |
Contact Info: Holly Dankert or Jenn Smith John M. Flaxman Library School of the Art Institute of Chicago 37 S. Wabash, 6th floor Chicago IL 60603 312.899.5096 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Description
Loading content... please wait





