Trade publication for apparel and textile industries focused on sourcing and manufacturing. Frequent updates on global market conditions, breaking news stories, top-tier investigative journalism and industry white papers.
Definitive fashion and retail publication providing primary source material for fashion, business, history and the development of the fashion industry over the twentieth & twenty-first centuries. 1910 to the present.
Chazelles sur Lyon was once the center of production for de luxe hair felt hats. Since 1976 only one factory has remained in production. The Hat Making Museum collections include all types of hats for women and men from 1850 to contemporary times, including some young designers. Archives are open to students and professionals.
The Costume Institute's collection of more than 35,000 costumes and accessories represents five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress, regional costumes, and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
Focuses on fashionable dress for men, women and children from the late 16th century to the present day. The Museum was the creation of Doris Langley Moore, a designer, collector and historian, who gave her famous private collection of costume to the city in 1963. It now has over 30,000 objects in its collection.
The Costume Collection at the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History, Behring Center, contains over 30,000 garments and accessories representing the changing appearance of Americans from the 17th century to the present. The collection illustrates many of the social, cultural, technological and economic influences affecting dress made or worn in America.
Another town with historic links to the hatting industry. Demonstrations, displays, educational activities. Resident milliner and textile designer. Displays cover the hat from the early 1800's to catwalk fashions of the 21st century.
The Victoria and Albert Museum's Fashion collection spans five centuries and features items from around the world. Key items in the collection include rare 17th century gowns, 18th century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear and post-war couture.