This is the "Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection" page of the "Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Flaxman Library on Tumblr Flaxman Library On Instagram Flaxman Library on Facebook @saic_library on Twitter

Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection  

Last Updated: Nov 9, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.saic.edu/jfabc Print Guide RSS Updates
Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About

 

The Joan Flasch Artists’ Book Collection

The Joan Flasch Artists’ Book Collection holds over 8,000 artists’ publications in all formats and media from the last fifty years and makes them accessible to both the SAIC community and the general public. All material is non-circulating. Some items in the JFABC digital libraries catalog are categorized "Restricted Access" due to their condition or rarity, but can be viewed with prior notification of at least one working day by contacting jfabc@saic.edu or by calling 312.899.7486.

 

Zine Collection

Included in the Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection is a collection of approximately 600 zines, dating from the early 1970s to the present. Categories include punk and riot-grrl, 1990's perzines, comic book zines, 1980s underground art, mail art, collage, dada and fluxus-inspired, Church of the Sub-Genius, and experimental/industrial/noise music and tape culture. This material is searchable via our web-based digital libraries catalog.

 
Mail Art Collection

The Mail Art Collection includes correspondence art from all over the world, as well as reference books and exhibition catalogues, some of it donated by long-time mail artist Dorothy Patrick Harris. It has not yet been cataloged but can be made accessible to anyone by contacting jfabc@saic.edu or by calling 312.899.7486

 
Web Art Collection

For the last decade we have been documenting and bookmarking examples of Web and Net Art and the critical discourse surrounding it. The result is a list of over 900 links, with tags and brief descriptions of the work. It is viewable here.

Artists’ Stamps
Almost 300 sheets, booklets and individual stamps exemplify this form of artistic production, some of them utilized to actually transport letters through the mail. This material is for viewing in the Special Collections Reading Room, and can be searched via its own digital libraries collection here.

Ask Us

Profile Image
 
Contact Info
Doro Boehme
Special Collections Librarian
37 S. Wabash, Suite 508
Chicago, IL 60603
312.899.1493
Send Email
 
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip