This is the "RSGA home" page of the "Randolph Street Gallery Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Flaxman Library on Tumblr Flaxman Library On Instagram Flaxman Library on Facebook @saic_library on Twitter

Randolph Street Gallery Archives  

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

RSGA home Print Page

The Collaborative Project




About Randolph Street Gallery


Randolph Street Gallery (RSG) was a vital force in the contemporary arts for over twenty years (1979-1998), serving as a laboratory for new forms, new thought and new ways to bring art to the world.  There were and are few comparable organizations. Many of the emerging and mid-career artists who experimented at Randolph Street Gallery are now recognized as leaders who have changed the context of our cultural dialogue.  Today, RSG alumni continue to write, film, curate, perform, make art, run arts organizations and educate future generations of artists.  Their influence is felt locally and globally. 

The gallery’s ongoing programs and special projects included exhibitions, performances, video and film screenings, public art, education programs, panel discussions, symposia, grants to artists, and arts advocacy.  RSG was also the original publisher of P-form: Performance Art Magazine.  The archives contain historical records of performance, sculpture, visual and other art forms created or presented by local and international artists. Among the materials are: artists’ portfolios, slides, posters, signage, photographs, performance programs, publications, news clippings, publicity files, a variety of video media, sound recordings, computer files, administrative records, and approximately fifty original works of art.

Randolph Street Gallery Archives Digital Collection

The digital collection is an ongoing project to provide patrons with an online entry point to the Randolph Street Gallery Archives. Digitized material includes a complete run of Event Calendars and a growing collection of posters, photographs, videos, and other material. View the digital collection.


Ask Us

Profile Image
Contact Info
Doro Boehme
Special Collections Librarian
37 S. Wabash, Suite 508
Chicago, IL 60603
Send Email
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices

Loading  Loading...