This is the "MacLean Visual Resources Center" page of the "MacLean Visual Resources Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Flaxman Library on Tumblr Flaxman Library On Instagram Flaxman Library on Facebook @saic_library on Twitter

MacLean Visual Resources Center  

Last Updated: Mar 25, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.saic.edu/vrc Print Guide RSS Updates

MacLean Visual Resources Center Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MacLean VRC Hours

Mon - Fri: 8:30am - 4:30pm

Sat - Sun: CLOSED

 

Artstor Shared Shelf

Visit ARTstor to view the SAIC Shared Shelf collection along with the 1.6 million other art images made available through Artstor.

 

MDID

All images from the MDID collection have been migrated into the new ARTstor Shared Shelf collection. MDID will remain available for historic users through the end of Spring Semester 2015. We have turned off the ability for new faculty accounts to be created in MDID, and recommend all new users start with ARTstor.

 

Request Digital Images

Digital images may be acquired through copy photography, slide scanning, or purchase. Please bring any materials to our offices along with this request form. VRC staff will work with you to create or aquire the images in a timely fashion. Staff require 3 Weeks to complete most requests.

 

Request One-On-One Training

Training  in ARTstor Shared Shelf, and other services of the VRC, is available on request. Sessions can be scheduled by contacting us at vrc@saic.edu or with our online form.

 

Shared Shelf Training Schedule: Spring 2015

We are happy to announce the ARTstor Shared Shelf Faculty Training Sessions for March 2015. For these months, all sessions are held in the Flaxman Library, Sharp 613, the Flaxman Library Instruction Room unless otherwise noted, and will cover the basics of using ARTstor and the transition from MDID. The dates for through the month of March are

Friday, March 6 at Noon
12pm to 1:30 pm
Wed, March 11th at 1pm
**Sharp 602, Library Media Room**
Tue, March 17 at 11 am
Fri, March 20 at 1 pm
Wed, March 25 at 1pm
Fri, March 27 at 1pm
Tue, March 31 at 11 am
11 am to 1:30 pm

If these dates and times don't work for you, please drop me an email and I will be happy to add additional dates and times to the schedule, for either one-on-one instruction or for the possibility of a group session. You can contact us at vrc@saic.edu or call at 312-899-5101 Also, feel free to drop me us a note at vrc@saic.edu if you plan on attending a session, so we know to look out for you. Otherwise, just drop in!

If you would like to see examples of the new images we have been adding to the SAIC collection in ARTstor you can visit the Flaxman Library Tumblr with this link. We add posts about new images at least twice a week.

As a reminder MDID will remain available for historic users through the end of Spring Semester 2015 so you do not need to start using ARTstor immediately, but you do need to prepare any presentations that you want to bring with you.

Shared Shelf

 

ARTstor Shared Shelf Resources

The MDID@SAIC digital image collection is now live within ARTstor Shared Shelf, providing you with simultaneous access to our 180,000+ locally curated images (now in MDID) alongside the 1.6 million images in the familiar ARTstordatabase.

Shared Shelf training and orientation sessions will be conducted throughout the summer and fall of 2014 to help faculty learn more about Artstor and get their presentations ready in the new system.

We also suggest these Artstor Help sections for further investigation on your own:

For assistance with Power Point, or other software tutorials, check out the resources at Lynda.com, available to you through the Flaxman Library.

 

Contact

37 South Wabash Ave 5th Floor
Room 507
Chicago, IL 60603-3103
phone: 312.899.5101
Send Email

Christopher Day
Digital Services Librarian
phone: 312.899.5101
Send Email

 

ARTstor Vocabulary

To assist you in finding the best terms to use for searching the collection, we have created a Google spreadsheet with the terms that we use, including newer terms and terms that had been used to describe the Fibers & Materials Studies collection. You can access this document here.

 

What's New In ARTstor Shared Shelf

We add new images on a daily basis to the Library curated collection of images in ARTstor Shared Shelf. To see the latest images you can check out the SAIC Library Tumblr page or look in the "New SAIC Images" folder in ARTstor.

 

Other Image Resources

In addition to ARTstor, the Flaxman Library provides a wide selection of image resources. Check out libraryguides.saic.edu/images

View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip