This is the "SAIC Wired" page of the "Course guide - SAIC WIRED" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Aspen May, Einstein Rainbow 9, 2009 John M. Flaxman Library School of the Art Institute Of Chicago Flaxman Library's Bookmarks on delicious Flaxman Library on Flickr Flaxman Library on Facebook @saic_library on Twitter flaxman@saic.edu

Course guide - SAIC WIRED  

Last Updated: May 16, 2011 URL: http://libraryguides.saic.edu/WIRED Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
SAIC Wired Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

 

Source Images and Photo Sharing

  • Google Images
  • Creative Commons
    Provides free licenses and other legal tools to mark creative work with the freedom the creator wants it to carry, so others can share, remix, use commercially...
  • flickr
    Use advanced search to find flickr photos released under the creative commons license
  • flickr apps  
      
    User-created flickr apps = more fun with flickr!
  • retrievr
    An experimental service which lets you search and explore in a selection of Flickr images by drawing a rough sketch.
  • Wikimedia Commons
    A database of 3,091,240 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
  • 25 Free Stock Photo Sites

Art image databases

  • ARTstor  
      
    Images of paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, photographs, and decorative arts from around the world. 95% of ARTstor images are 1024 pixels on the long side.
  • Art Institute of Chicago Collection
    Small but growing portion of the Art Institute's permanent collection. Includes images and basic information about works of art representing all areas of the collection.
  • Saskia Art Images Collection  
      
    30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections. 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthisto
  • Britannica Image Quest
  • CARLI Digital Collections  
      
    Digital art images encompassing Western and Eastern civilizations.
  • MDID (MacLean Visual Resources Center)  
      
    Images for lectures at the School of the Art Institute. See MacLean Visual Resources Center/Slide Library for instructions and login.
  • Oxford Art: Search Art Image Links
    Offers encyclopedic coverage of all aspects of fine and applied arts, architecture, and artists and architects biographies.
  • Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
    First ever scholarly, primary source on adult comic books and graphic novels. Begins with the first underground comix (1960s) to the works of modern sequential artists, and contains more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, plus interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.

 

Creative Commons - Building on the Past

Images and Copyright

Ask Us

Profile Image
 
Contact Info
Holly Dankert or Jenn Smith
John M. Flaxman Library
School of the Art Institute of Chicago
37 S. Wabash, 6th floor
Chicago IL 60603
312.899.5096
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip