Research Guides: Film & Cinema Research Guide: Welcome

Welcome to the film + cinema research guide. Using the left navigation, you'll find advice on where and how to find resources specific to this discipline. Remember you can always contact flaxman@saic.edu if you need any help.

Quick Tips

Consider these databases as best bets when doing your film & cinema research.
FOR ARTICLES AND READINGS

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of television and film, including theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Art Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of many contemporary art magazines (e.g., Artforum International) plus scholarly journals in the visual and performing arts, literature and the humanities.

FOR STREAMING VIDEO

EAI: Electronic Arts Intermix Educational Streaming This link opens in a new window
Covers mid-1960s to the present, and is one of the most comprehensive video art collections. The works include pioneering figures, e.g. Nam June Paik, Bruce Nauman, Martha Rosler, Joan Jonas, to new digital works by emerging artists, e.g. Seth Price, Paper Rad, Cory Arcangel and Takeshi Murata.
Projectr TV This link opens in a new window
A curated and ever-expanding collection of acclaimed movies, archival restorations, award-winning documentaries and artist-made works from around the world.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Curated collection of streaming videos including a number of classic and contemporary popular films largely from Hollywood studios and producers.
Video Data Bank (VDB) This link opens in a new window
VDB's educational streaming platform provides access to all the videos available for streaming in its collection of contemporary video and media art (ARTIC login required).