Research Guides: SAIC History Research Guide: Where to Find Resources

Films + Videos about SAIC

Panopto Media Library (SAIC Videos)
Video documentation about the School from academic and studio departments, Video Data Bank, VAP, libraries and archives.
SAIC vimeo
SAIC youtube
150 Years of SAIC

Articles + Images

Artstor/SAIC Images This link opens in a new window
Images curated by the Flaxman Library specifically for use in teaching and research at SAIC includes the Art & Art History Visual Resources Collection, SAIC History Collections and images from the Roger Brown Study Collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Five historic AIC periodicals are available in JSTOR
- 1907-1951 Bulletin of the Art Institute of Chicago
- 1951-1965 Art Institute of Chicago Quarterly
- 1965-1972 Calendar of the Art Institute of Chicago
- 1973-1982 Bulletin of the Art Institute of Chicago
- 1966-2011 Museum Studies
US Major Dailies (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Search the Chicago Tribune (1949 - present) and New York Times (1851 - 2010) for articles about the School.

Other Licensed Resources
Over 150 licensed resources are available to SAIC students, faculty and staff. Link above uses the Library Search to find information from many sources at once. See the library and archive websites for listings of all the resources available to you.

Materials in SAIC Special Collections

Faculty and alumni works can also be found and researched in campus special collections.

Websites + More Resources

Some content available on campus only. If available off campus, you'll be prompted to login using your ARTIC login.

150th SAIC Events + Historical Timeline
Bibliography of SAIC Alumni, Staff & Faculty Publications in Flaxman Library
SAIC Digital Collections
Curated selections of historic publications, archival materials, student theses, and artists’ works drawn from our library shelves or from other campus special collections.
Early SAIC Campus Newspapers
Over a Century: A History of The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, 1866-1981
SAIC Publications on ISSUU
Includes materials from a variety of departments published from 2016 to the present.
SAIC Student-Run Exhibition History (SITE & SUGS)
SITE, previously Student Union Galleries (SUGs), is a student-run organization at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC) and has been exhibiting student work since 1994.

SAIC History Research Guide