Video + Audio - AIADO | HPres Research Guide - Research Guides at School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Where to Find AIADO Video + Audio

The Library Search is a Great Starting Point for Videos and Audio!

Use the search box below to search almost everything the library has to offer, or visit the library homepage. The library has DVD, CD, Audiocassette, Vinyl, the Film, Video, New Media and Animation (FVNMA) Archive, and streaming video and audio collections. Checkout the How to Find Videos, Streaming Videos, and Audio pages in this guide for step-by-step directions!

Consider these preset search parameters for DVDs and Audio:
Finding DVDS: By Year (newest first) | Documentary Films | Feature Films

Finding Audio: Popular Music (newest first) | Avant-garde Music (newest first)

Streaming Video

You can locate streaming video in the Flaxman catalog, but there are other Databases in the library you may consider searching. Check out the link below for a full list! See our Where to Find Videos page for an additional list of recommended streaming video websites.

Dis.art This link opens in a new window
A streaming platform for entertainment and education from the Dis collaborative, enlisting leading artists and thinkers to expand the reach of key conversations in contemporary art, culture, activism, philosophy, and technology through short streaming original series and documentaries.
Docuseek2 Streaming This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of documentary films from Kartemquin Films, Collective Eye, Fanlight.com, ScorpionTV, Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films and other distributors.
OnArchitecture This link opens in a new window
Over 600 original videos examining major worldwide trends and personalities in architecture today. Includes interviews, documentation of buildings and installations, along with supporting materials about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture.

Works (OnArchitecture)
selection of works built all over the world by important architects like Mies van der Rohe, Paulo Mendes da Rocha, Peter Märkli, Lina Bo Bardi, Valerio Olgiati, Pezo von Ellrichshausen, Office KGDVS, Wang Shu, SANAA, Lacaton Vassal amongst many others.
All Available Streaming Videos Databases (from the Databases A-Z list)

Audio

You can locate streaming video in the Flaxman catalog, but there are other Databases in the library you may consider searching. Check out the link below for a full list! See our Where to Find Audio page for an additional list of recommended music and sound websites.

All Available Music / Sound Databases (from Databases A-Z)

Film Screening On Campus

Films and videos from library collections are primarily for educational use (classroom screenings and personal research) and as a general rule libraries do not have performance screening rights for the movies they own. Links below are useful in understanding copyright issues and film screenings.

Performance Rights for Copyrighted Videorecordings
University of Buffalo's Performance Rights for Copyrighted Videos
Public v. Private
Mt. Holyoke University's Resources on whether a screening is public or private to determine permission to screen.