This is the "FAQ" page of the "SAIC Theses" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Aspen May, Einstein Rainbow 9, 2009 Flaxman Library on Tumblr Flaxman Library's Bookmarks on delicious Flaxman Library on Facebook @saic_library on Twitter

SAIC Theses  

Last Updated: May 20, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.saic.edu/thesis Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

FAQ Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

 

 

THESIS FAQs 

  

Finding an SAIC thesis
 
How do I find an SAIC thesis in the Flaxman Library?
There are two ways to find SAIC theses: you can visit these call number areas in the Flaxman Library if you'd like to browse, or you can use the search box at the top of this page to look up a thesis in the library catalog. All SAIC theses submitted to Flaxman Library appear in our library catalog, just like books, DVDs, etc.  If you're looking for a specific thesis, search using thesis title, the author's name, or words that describe what the thesis is about.
         
Why can’t I check out a thesis?
Theses are one-of-a-kind works and are not easily replaced.  We are committed to making sure that our copy of your thesis will be here for future generations to read.
 
Are SAIC theses available digitally?
Not at this time.  However, we're looking into options for a future digital thesis repository.
 
Can I buy a copy of an SAIC thesis? 
Not from the library, but we will be happy to take your contact information and try to forward your request to the thesis author.  We do not have the right to copy student's theses. 

Do you have alternative format theses, like DVDs, CDs, etc.?
Yes, we do.  They are shelved with the DVDs, CDs, etc.

Are all the SAIC thesis abstracts online?
No, but many are -- primarily those for theses completed between 2006 and the present.  Please consult our Find thesis abstracts list to find out more.

I found an abstract for an SAIC thesis on the web, but can’t find the thesis in the Flaxman Library.  Why?
Over time, programs have chosen to publish thesis abstracts in print, on disc, or on their web pages, as well as supplying them for the Flaxman Library catalog.  In earlier years, some programs required students to submit an "abstract" (a proposal) prior to writing their thesis.  While a few of these theses may never have been finished, their "abstracts" may still exist.
 
I found a thesis in the library catalog, but there is no abstract.  Why?
Submitting a digital abstract for use in the library catalog is an additional step that not all authors completed.

 

Your SAIC thesis

Do Flaxman Librarians offer help with thesis research?
Yes.  We offer one-on-one research consultations for all your research needs and questions.  We also visit Thesis classes in all SAIC programs to teach research skills.  Please contact us at flaxman@saic.edu to schedule an appointment.

How do I format my thesis?
Please consult your Thesis Advisor for document and page layout requirements specific to your program.
You can view a generic, sample Thesis Title Page here. If you have questions about creating a bibliography for your thesis, or how to cite a particular source, please see a librarian and/or email flaxman@saic.edu.

How do I submit my thesis to the Library?
Fill out two copies of the Thesis Submission Worksheet  -- one for each of the two copies of your thesis that you will submit to your program (not to the library).  Please see the Thesis Submission Guidelines for more details.

What happens to my thesis after it is submitted?
1. Your thesis is approved by your Thesis Advisor and program.
2. Your program transfers batches of approved theses to Flaxman Library.
3. These are processed in the Library for monthly shipments to an off-site bindery.  A copy of your Thesis Submission Worksheet is kept on file in the Library offices for inventory purposes.
4. The following month, the bound theses are returned to Flaxman Library.  Shipments are unpacked, sorted, and checked against the inventory.
5. One copy of your thesis is cataloged and shelved at Flaxman Library.  The second copy is sent to the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries for the Institutional Archives.

How long does it take until my thesis is available in the library?
The average turnaround time is 8-12 weeks.  Bindery shipments and deliveries only occur once a month.  If your thesis reaches the library immediately after a shipment has gone out, we will not be able to send it to the bindery until the next month.

Why isn’t my thesis in the library?
It could be at any of the stages described above.  Please check with your program to verify when they sent your thesis to the library.  That will help us determine where it might be in the process.

What is the difference between submitting a thesis and submitting a thesis abstract?
The thesis is your finished paper or project, submitted in duplicate to your program.  The abstract is a summary description of your thesis problem and findings.  Traditionally, a written thesis includes an abstract after the table of contents.  If you want your abstract to appear in the library catalog, you must submit it in digital form with your thesis. This is an additional step on your part.  Please see the library's guidelines and check with your Thesis Advisor for any additional requirements or recommendations specific to your  program.

If I submit a digital abstract, where will it appear?
It will appear in the library catalog within the record for your thesis.  It will be web accessible and keyword-searchable.  It will help researchers and future thesis writers find and understand your work quickly.

How long will that take?
Cataloging theses and other SAIC publications is a high priority for Flaxman Library.  We try to catalog theses within a week of their return from the bindery, but large shipments may take longer to complete.  As theses are being cataloged, we include any abstracts that we have received.  The records appear within 24 hours of being added to our database.

I submitted a digital abstract, but I don’t see it in the library catalog.  Why?
Digital abstracts must be transferred to the library from your program.  If we received a digital file containing your abstract, it should appear in the library's catalog when your thesis is cataloged. If you submitted a digital abstract file with your thesis but don't see it in the cataloging record, please alert your Program and ask them to contact the library.

How can I get my own copy of my thesis bound?
The bindery that we use, The HF Group, also works with individual customers.  There are other affordable options such as lulu.com  or FedEx/Kinkos.

How do I publish my thesis?
Please be wary of any publisher who pops up out of the blue and offers,
sight unseen, to publish your thesis. Every year a number of our graduates report
being approached by "publishers" eagerly seeking unevaluated theses to "publish" for
the "international market." Before you sign away any (or all) of your rights or pay fees, read
their contract carefully.

Writers and artists are encouraged to pursue publication opportunities that you
yourself initiate with presses, journals, or sites you recognize and admire. SAIC
librarians are available to help you research publishers and publishing.

Additional resources for publishing:

Writer Beware blog
How academic "author mills" operate.
http://accrispin.blogspot.com/2009/09/victoria-strauss-vdm-verlag-dr-mueller.html

SHERPA/RoMEO
A database of publishers' normal copyright agreements.
http://www.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo/

SPARC Author Rights pamphlet
Know your rights, scrutinize contracts, retain your rights!
http://www.arl.org/sparc/bm~doc/SPARC_AuthorRights2006.pdf

SPARC Author Addendum
How to modify contracts to retain your rights.
http://www.arl.org/sparc/author/addendum.shtml

Other questions?
Please contact us at flaxman@saic.edu or 312-899-5097.

 

Ask Us

Profile Image
 
Contact Info
Holly Dankert or Jenn Smith
John M. Flaxman Library
School of the Art Institute of Chicago
37 S. Wabash, 6th floor
Chicago IL 60603
312.899.5096
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip