Research Guides: Fiber & Material Studies Research Guide: Articles

Databases @ Flaxman
Journals @ Flaxman

Off campus? log in using your ARTIC username and password, just like you’re logging in to your SAIC email.

Art Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of many contemporary art magazines (e.g., Artforum International) plus scholarly journals in the visual and performing arts, literature and the humanities.
Art Full Text (available within Art & Architecture Source) This link opens in a new window
Wide range of international art journals covering most art topics and periods, with some full text.
Arts + Architecture ProFiles This link opens in a new window
Provides information about more than 8,000 artists, architects, designers, craftspeople, artists and design-related organizations that were influential in the 20th century world of design. Dates covered: 1894-1986.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is on the JSTOR platform effective 8/1/24. Digital image gallery with millions of images of works of art from museums, galleries, and private collections, including the Art Institute of Chicago. Artstor also includes AIC Collections, images curated by the Flaxman Library specifically for use in teaching and research at SAIC. Click here for tips on how to use Workspace for organizing images.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of all JSTOR content including scholarly humanities, arts, and social sciences journals. Note: does NOT include the most current 3-5 years.

Find Journals and Magazines

Journals on Fiber & Material Studies