Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Flaxman Library SAIC School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Where to Find Resources (by type)

Where to Find Images

ARTstor
Artstor is a collection of over 2.5 million images of art and images from museums and galleries around the world. Included in this collection are SAIC Collections, which features hundreds and thousands of images exclusive to the SAIC community, digitized by faculty request for use in instruction and research.

These collections include the SAIC Art and Art History Visual Resources Collection, SAIC History Collection, and The Roger Brown Study collection. They can be browsed by logging in to Artstor and going to Browse > Institutional Collections but they will come up in the results of any Artstor search as well. You can also browse groups of images curated by SAIC Faculty by going to Browse > Groups and clicking on Institutional.

Faculty who would like assistance with ARTstor, to request digital art images, and other resources to show images in the classroom contact Digital Collections: vrc@saic.edu / 312.899.5101

How to Find Images

If you would like advice on how to find images using library databases like ARTstor, check out our How to Find Images page!

Image Databases

ARTstor is a great starting point, but there are some additional image sources you may find helpful.

Free Images

Commercial Stock Image Sites