Research Guides: Fashion Research Guide: Articles + Magazines

Where to Find Fashion Articles + Magazines

The Library Search is a Great Starting Point for Books and Articles!

Use the search box below to search almost everything the library has to offer, or visit the library homepage. Checkout the How to Find Articles page in this guide for step-by-step directions.

Consider these pre-made searches for Fashion: f ashion history | contemporary fashion designers | fashion textiles

Fashion: Best Bet Databases

Sometimes it is beneficial to go straight to databases focusing on the subject you're researching. To see a full list of databases for Fashion - check out our Databases A-Z: Fashion list. Databases below are some of your best bets:

A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
Yale University Press's authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. Includes the Art Institute of Chicago's eBooks.
Art Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of many contemporary art magazines (e.g., Artforum International) plus scholarly journals.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, ebooks, an image bank, and more.
Ebony Magazine Archive (Google Books) This link opens in a new window
Many issues digitized cover-to-cover from 1959 to 2008.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedic coverage of all aspects of fine and applied arts, architecture, and artists and architects biographies.
Harper's Bazaar This link opens in a new window
The backfiles of the US and UK editions of Harper's Bazaar magazine, a fashion, arts, and culture authority from 1867 to the present. Scanned in full color, it features detailed indexing and searchable text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of all JSTOR content including scholarly humanities, arts, and social sciences journals. Note: does NOT include the most current 3-5 years.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Browseable and searchable content from the American fashion magazine Vogue, including covers. 1892 to the present.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
Definitive fashion and retail publication providing primary source material for fashion, business, history and the development of the fashion industry over the twentieth & twenty-first centuries. 1910 to the present.

Fashion Databases @ Flaxman
Links to the full list of library databases that have great fashion content.