Research Guides: Writing Research Guide: Welcome

Welcome to the Writing Research Guide! Using the left navigation, you'll find advice on where and how to find resources specific to this discipline. Remember you can always contact flaxman@saic.edu if you need any help.

Quick Tips

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides answers to style, format, and editing questions related to manuscript preparation. Types of material covered: Includes the 18th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, the Chicago Style Q & A resource, and a Quick Guide with examples of citations. The older 17th edition is linked here.
Library Stack This link opens in a new window
Collection of projects made by artists, architects or designers, includes PDF zines; downloadable exhibitions; experimental sound compositions; magazines about experimental sound art; fonts channeling cultural histories; and political artworks in the form of custom browser extensions.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Published by the Modern Language Association of America this database indexes international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore, with over 1.3 million citations.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Provides Word definitions and detailed etymologies for nearly every word in the English language. Current edition, updated quarterly.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. Daily content is available by 8am each day and provides archives back to the 1980s.