Research Guides: Art History Research Guide: Articles + Journals + Databases

Where to Find Art History Articles + Journals + Databases

The Library Search is a Great Starting Point for Books and Articles!

Use the search box below to search almost everything the library has to offer, or visit the library homepage. Checkout the How to Find Articles page in this guide for step-by-step directions.

Consider these pre-made searches for Art History: contemporary art history | decolonizing art history | Chicago art history

Art History: Best Bet Databases

Sometimes it is beneficial to go straight to databases focusing on the subject you're researching. To see a full list of databases for Art History - check out our Databases A-Z: Art History list. These databases are some of your best bets:

Art Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of many contemporary art magazines (e.g., Artforum International) plus scholarly journals in the visual and performing arts, literature and the humanities.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and full-text coverage for over 780 publications on the subjects of art and art history, antiquities, archaeology, design, architecture, film, and other related subjects. Includes the entirety of the Art Full Text database.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is on the JSTOR platform effective 8/1/24. Digital image gallery with millions of images of works of art from museums, galleries, and private collections, including the Art Institute of Chicago. Artstor also includes AIC Collections, images curated by the Flaxman Library specifically for use in teaching and research at SAIC. Click here for tips on how to use Workspace for organizing images.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of all JSTOR content including scholarly humanities, arts, and social sciences journals. Note: does NOT include the most current 3-5 years.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art (Grove Art Online)--encyclopedic coverage of all aspects of fine and applied arts, architecture, and artists and architects biographies.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Historical journal archive in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.

Art History Journals + Magazines

Consider exploring these journals relevant to Art History to read current conversations and get inspiration! You can also explore more journals and magazines using the search box.

Journal Title Search

Art Bulletin [Journal]
From their description: "The Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions."
Artforum International [Magazine]
Monthly magazine focusing on contemporary art.

Artforum Archive This link opens in a new window
First issue 1962 through 2020. Cover to cover scanned issues.

Frieze: Contemporary Art and Culture [Magazine]
Also see the website.

Art History Literature Indexes

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Annotated citations on modern and contemporary art from the 19th century to the present.
Art Full Text (available within Art & Architecture Source) This link opens in a new window
Wide range of international art journals covering most art topics and periods, with some full text.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window
Citations from a wide range of international art journals, giving general coverage of most art topics and periods.
BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art (1975-2007) This link opens in a new window
As of 4/1/10 the Getty Research Institute hosts the 1975 - 2007 index, for new entries see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA). Print volumes of BHA are also at the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries; 1991 to 2000. Ryerson also has the 1973-1989 volumes of the index Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie which were included in BHA. Please contact them at reference@artic.edu for further assistance with the print volumes.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
Successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Covers European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Some articles from 1990-2007 but most content written between 2008 and the present. Focus is art of the Western world.