Ryerson and Burnham Art and Architecture Archive collect artists’ and architects’ papers that illuminate the development of art and architecture in Chicago and the Midwest from the 1870s to the present, as well as complement the museum’s permanent collections.
This union catalog of archival collections is a combination of nearly a million descriptive records for individual collections and the full text of over 48,000 finding aids (detailed collection guides or inventories) from international libraries and archives. Includes materials from the Medieval and Renaissance eras to the current day.
3 full text collections--ReVIEW, arts & architecture journals; Arts + Architecture ProFILES, biographical data on artists, architects, & designers; Research Source on The Poster--plus Design Abstracts Retrospective, indexing applied arts and design journals from 1900-1986.
Wide range of documentation, including the personal archives of significant artists, educators, and art professionals, key exhibitions and art spaces on contemporary art in Asia. Many collections are digitized.
NYARC and the Internet Archive's collaborative project aimed at capturing and preserving at-risk web-based art materials, primarily collections of archived web-based content related to art history and contemporary art practice.
The Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC) gathers information about archival collections held by member organizations that document African American and African diasporic culture, history, and politics, with a specific focus on materials relating to Chicago. The searchable database includes records about collections that were processed or surveyed through the BMRC's Survey Initiative and Color Curtain Processing Project programs, as well as finding aids contributed from our members about relevant materials in their repositories.
Collection of primary-source materials on the Indigenous people of Canada and the United States, including artwork, manuscripts, monographs, motion pictures, newspapers, and photographs from a wide variety of archival sources.
Many digitized items can be checked out for a limited period. Continually growing collection offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Visual, contextual, and non-spatial documentation of African heritage sites. These materials serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning. More downloadable datasets and spatial documentation for the Zamani Project can be found here.
Researchers may request digitization of an entire folder of archival material; you must agree to the conditions of use, and the scans are made available for research purposes only. The fees for this service are $30.00 per folder for scholars, students, and non-profit organizations, and $60.00 per folder for commercial entities.
A crowd-sourced virtual archive of inclusive graphic design history, including everything from finished projects to process, photos, correspondence, oral histories, anecdotes, articles, essays, and other materials.
Online institutional repository created and managed by the John M. Flaxman Library. Presents curated selections of historic publications, archival materials, student theses, and artists’ works drawn from our library shelves or from other campus special collections. They are offered here for educational and research purposes. Not all content available to be read online.