How to Use the Textile Resource Center

The Textile Resource Center (TRC), part of SAIC's network of Libraries & Special Collections, offers a hands-on study collection of global textiles dating from pre-Columbian to contemporary times. Visitors can engage with textiles and books reflecting the broad array of materials, processes, patterns, designs, approaches, and cultures representing innovative historical and contemporary textile practices, as well as explore conceptual approaches in the making of textiles throughout the world.

Since opening in the Fiber & Material Studies department with the textile & book collections of Professors Emeritae Joan Livingstone and Anne Wilson in 2013, the TRC collection has grown in size and scope. The collection currently holds over 600 textile objects and more than 2,000 non-circulating books & magazines exploring individual artists, processes, materials, critical theories, and global textile histories.

The Textile Resource Center houses book and object collections that are available to the SAIC community and general public. Click here to schedule an appointment. In addition to being physically accessible to visitors, the SAIC Community can also explore the TRC’s textile object collection online through SAIC’s digital collections. Please note, TRC collections require SAIC login to view fully. Folks can also search for books in the TRC using the library’s catalog. 

Learn more about the TRC: saic.edu/trc
Questions? Email saic-textileresourcecenter@saic.edu

HOW TO USE THE TRC

• How to Search the Collections
• Learning from our Collections
• Visiting the TRC
• Additional Resources