Research Guides: PTDW Fight Against Inequity and Racism Guide: Search Tips

Search Tips

Other Ways to Search for Writing Using Flaxman Library
SAIC's John M. Flaxman Library is a great starting point for relevant texts. Library staff collaborate with every program at the School to support teaching, learning and research across the entire curriculum at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Hundreds of thousands of books, magazines, movies and sound recordings are available on interdisciplinary topics in late 20th and 21st century art and design, with several thousand new items added annually. A continuously growing number of scholarly resources are available online, including ebooks, ejournals, databases, digital images and streaming videos.

Use the search box below to find almost everything the library has to offer, or visit the library homepage. Checkout the How to Find Books page for step-by-step directions + a video demonstration for finding books in Flaxman Library.

PRO TIP: remember to sign in with your ARTIC login.

Consider these pre-made searches: race and "contemporary art” | “African American” art | decolonizing art | Latinx art

Borrowing Books Beyond SAIC
If you cannot find what you're looking for at Flaxman, see the links below for other services that are available.

I-Share
Group of college & university libraries in Illinois; request & check out books.
Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Where to Find Resources
Flaxman's guide contains a list of links to other Chicago libraries, sites from which you can purchase books, and online platforms for research.

Other Places to Find Texts

Anti-Racist Art Teachers
Teaching resources to “promote inclusive thinking, celebrate diversity, and inspire transformative action through arts education,” this site includes anti-racist art activities, anti-racist art resources, anti-racist art lessons and artist interviews for K-12 and college curriculum.

ArtxHistory This link opens in a new window
Education resource of images, videos, mini-lectures and scholarship of the decades which influenced or defined modern through contemporary art. The core intent is to replace the dominant white, male, heteronormative, advantaged, celebrity narratives for a more inclusive history balanced with the work of women, artists of color, LGBTQIA+ persons, intersectional makers, and the self-taught.

Association for Critical Race Art History
(ACRAH) is a professional organization that promotes art historical scholarship from a critical race perspective. This site includes extensive bibliographies, divided by region, that include scholarship on the “Global South,” as well as non-Western perspectives.
Black Lunch Table
(BLT) began in 2005 at the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture artist residency. The project currently includes a roundtable series, an online oral history archive, and a Wikipedia initiative. BLT creates a digital space for art, Black studies and social justice issues.
Correspondence Archive
Correspondence Archive is an ongoing collection of written conversations/interviews between artists of color talking about each other’s work and careers. Our priority is to center the voices and practices of those who have been traditionally marginalized by the art world. Collectively, these conversations will become a way to share and archive a diverse and nuanced range of ideas and individual practices from communities that have often been flattened or erased.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
DPLA is an exclusively digital resource which includes the full-text of many contemporary art magazines and scholarly journals.

Met Publications
Choose Read Online to find digital texts. There are more offerings that may or may not be accessible online here.
NXTHVN
An innovative national arts model, NXTHVN seeks to empower emerging artists and curators of color by providing them education and access. Founded by Titus Kaphar, Jason Price, and Jonathan Brand, the organization is aimed at providing an alternative model of art mentorship and career advising, while creating significant opportunities for emerging local entrepreneurs. Their events and exhibitions respond to their community of artists, curators, and neighbors.
This Thing We Call Art
Podcast interviews and essays. Kelly Lloyd has been interviewing people in the arts about their livelihoods since 2017. She has interviewed 100 people thus far, and in addition to the online archive which will be continuously updated, she will share excerpts from a series of interviews via a podcast which is available on this website, as well as on Apple Podcasts and Spotify. Please subscribe to the newsletter below if you would like to be updated with news including the release of new episodes and event details.
The White Pube
is the collaborative identity of Gabrielle de la Puente and Zarina Muhammad. They post texts and host podcasts regularly on “art, video games, books, food, life, the weather, whatever’s in [their] heart.”

Databases
Don’t forget about the databases that Flaxman Library licenses and makes available to the SAIC community through your ARTIC login. Here’s a few of the best bets:

Art Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of many contemporary art magazines (e.g., Artforum International) plus scholarly journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of all JSTOR content including scholarly humanities, arts, and social sciences journals. Note: does NOT include the most current 3-5 years.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Historical journal archive in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.

PTDW Fight Against Inequity and Racism Guide

Submit Content

More Resource Guides

Search Tips