Flaxman's Pop Up Libraries

• New Little Village sculpture celebrates arriving immigrants: ‘We underestimate how courageous people are’ [Article]

  Work by SAIC associate professor, Salvador Jiménez-Flores.
• Flor Flores [artist website]

  Explore work by Chicago-based transdisciplinary artist & poet, Flor Flores.
• Chris Salas [artist website]

  Explore work by Chris Salas, 2024 Visiting Artist at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago through the AICAD Post-Graduate Teaching Fellowship.
• Javier Jasso [artist website]

  Explore work by SAIC alum and lecturer, Javier Jasso
• Roberto Sifuentes [artist website]

  Explore work by SAIC Professor, Roberto Sifuentes.
• The Instituto Gráfico de Chicago - Artists

  "The Instituto Gráfico de Chicago is dedicated to maintaining the critical activist tradition of Latino printmaking that unites communities of struggle around the world."

• Hispanic Heritage Month [Webpage]
• Latino, Hispanic, Latinx, Chicano: The History Behind the Terms [Webpage]
• Who You Calling 'Hispanic'? [Code Switch Podcast Episode]

  *Please note: This podcast does not provide episode transcripts as of the last update of this list.
• National Hispanic American Heritage Month [Website]
• Hispanic Heritage Month - National Archives [Digital Collection]
• Hispanic History Milestones: Timeline [Webpage]

• From the vault, volume II. Disc 7 Latino-Chicano studies by Pacifica Radio Archives

  Call Number: Audio CDs AUDIO CD 2567

  Publication Date: 200-?

• Undocuments by John-Michael Rivera

  Call Number: eBook (SAIC Login Required)

  ISBN: 0816540039

  Publication Date: 2021-03-30

• Latinx Spaces [Digital Publication]

  Online publication with sections for music, arts, literature, film, comics, podcasts, and more.
• Smithsonian American Art Museum: Latinx Art [Digital Collection]

  A collection of digital resources and collections available across the Smithsonian including topics like art, music, history, and culture.

• A Collection of Films by Nicolás Pereda

  Streaming videos and DVDs in the library collection by Nicolás Pereda, Mexican-Canadian film director. SAIC login required for streaming videos.
• A Collection of Films by Ximena Cuevas

  Streaming videos in the library collection by Ximena Cuevas, a Mexican video performance artist who explores the social and gender issues facing lesbians in Mexico. SAIC login required.

• After the earthquake = Después del terremoto [Feature Film] by Lourdes Portillo

  Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)

  Publication Date: 2012
• Amores perros = Love's a bitch [Feature Film] by Alejandro González Iñárritu

  Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk DVD 852

  Publication Date: 2002
• Bacurau [Feature Film] by Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles

  Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk - LIBRARY USE ONLY DVD 14045

  Publication Date: 2020
• Border art clásicos (1990-2005) an anthology of collaborative video works [Video Art]

  Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk - LIBRARY USE ONLY DVD 9473

  Publication Date: 2007

  This item is part of Video Data Bank's collection.
• Border Brujo [Event Documentation] by Guillermo Gómez-Peña

  Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)

  Publication Date: 1988

  Documentation of Guillermo Gómez-Peña's "Border Brujo," performed November 4-5, 1988 as part of the "Curiosity" event, which was part of the larger series "Bedtime Stories."
• The Cage [Event Documentation] by Guillermo Gómez-Peña and Coco Fusco

  Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)

  Publication Date: 1993

  Documentation of the January 15-17, 1993 event, "Post-Columbian Site-specific Project," as a part of the series "Guillermo Gómez-Peña and Coco Fusco: The Year of the White Bear."
• Chico & Rita [Feature Film] by Javier Mariscal, Fernando Trueba, Tono Errando

  Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk DVD 7116

  Publication Date: 2012

  96 minutes
  

  Also available as a Blu-ray: DVD 4999 Blu-ray

• Columbus on Trial [Video Art] by Lourdes Portillo

  Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)

  Publication Date: 1992

  18 minutes
• Cronos [Feature Film] by Guillermo del Toro

  Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk DVD 3873

  Publication Date: 2004

  92 Minutes
• The Holy Mountain [Feature Film] by Alejandro Jodorowsky

  Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk DVD 3555

  Publication Date: 1973

  54 min
• La Cienaga (The Swamp) [Feature Film] by Lucretia Martel

  Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk DVD 4281

  Publication Date: 2001

  80 minutes
• La niña santa (The Holy Girl) [Feature Film] by Lucretia Martel

  Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk DVD 1290

  Publication Date: 2004

  86 minutes
• Limite [Feature Film] by Mário Peixoto

  Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk - LIBRARY USE ONLY DVD 13008

  Publication Date: 1931

  120 minutes
• Nostalgia de la luz [Documentary] by Patricio Guzmán

  Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)

  Publication Date: 2010

  90 minutes
• Macunaíma by Joaquim Pedro de Andrade [Feature Film]

  Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)

  Publication Date: 1969

  95 minutes
• Maravilla [Video Art] by Beatriz Santiago-Muñoz

  Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)

  Publication Date: 1997

  23 minutes
• Pochonovela: A Chicano Soap Opera [Video Art] by Coco Fusco

  Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)

  Publication Date: 1996

  This item is part of Video Data Bank's collection.
• Y tu mamá también [Feature Film] by Alfonso Cuarón

  Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk DVD 734

  Publication Date: 2001
• Zama [Feature Film] by Lucrecia Martel

  Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk - LIBRARY USE ONLY DVD 13261 Blu-ray

  Publication Date: 2018

  115 minutes

• 90 Degrees of Shade: Hot Jump-Up Island Sounds from the Caribbean [CD]

  Call Number: Audio CDs AUDIO CD 5327

  Publication Date: 2014
• James Luna (VAP lecture 1995) by SAIC Visiting Artists Program

  Call Number: Streaming audio

  Publication Date: 1995
• New York Latin hustle! by Soul Jazz Records

  Call Number: Audio CDs AUDIO CD 1406

  Publication Date: 2007
• Panama: Latin, Calypso and Funk on the Isthmus 1965-75 by Soundway Records

  Call Number: Audio CDs AUDIO CD 1969

  Publication Date: 2006
• Peru Maravilloso: Vintage Latin, Tropical and Cumbia by Tiger's Milk Records

  Call Number: Audio CDs AUDIO CD 5328

  Publication Date: 2013
• Venezuela 70: Cosmic Visions of a Latin American Earth: Venezuelan Experimental Rock in the 1970s by Soul Jazz Records

  Call Number: Audio CDs AUDIO CD 5159

  Publication Date: 2016

• The Cry of the Senses by Ren Ellis Neyra

  Call Number: eBook (SAIC Login Required)

  ISBN: 9781478011170

  Publication Date: 2020-12-11
• Black, Brown + Latinx Design Educators by Kelly Walters

  Call Number: eBook (SAIC Login Required)

  ISBN: 1616899972

  Publication Date: 2021-03-30
• Gómez-Peña Unplugged by Guillermo Gómez-Peña; Emma Tramposch (Editor); Balitrónica Gómez (Editor)

  Call Number: eBook (SAIC Login Required)

  ISBN: 9781000263343

  Publication Date: 2020-12-30
• La Pocha Nostra by Guillermo Gómez-Peña; Saúl García-López; Paloma Martinez-Cruz (Editor)

  Call Number: eBook (SAIC Login Required)

  ISBN: 9780429322105

  Publication Date: 2020-11-29
• Latinx Art by Arlene Dávila

  Call Number: eBook (SAIC Login Required)

  ISBN: 9781478008859

  Publication Date: 2020-07-24
• We Are Here: visionaries of color transforming the art world by Jasmin Hernandez; Swizz Beatz (Foreword by); Sunny Leerasanthanah (By (photographer)); Jasmine Durhal (By (photographer))

  Call Number: eBook (SAIC Login Required)

  ISBN: 1647001684

  Publication Date: 2021-02-02