Research Guides: Flaxman's Pop Up Libraries: Anti-Racism and Black Lives Matter (2020)

A list of resources last updated on 9/23/2020. You can also checkout the sub-collection of resources for Juneteenth 2020.

Where to Start

Racism 101: Understanding Race and Racism
Showing Up For Racial Justice's quick introduction to basic concepts around race and racism.
Being Antiracist
A guide from the National Museum of African American History and Culture, which is a piece of the Talking About Race series.
Black Lives Matter - About Page
Information on Black Lives Matter - explore the site for more.
Scaffolded Anti-Racist Resources
A Google Document "...for scaffolding anti-racism resources. The goal is to facilitate growth for white folks to become allies, and eventually accomplices for anti-racist work."
Anti-Racist Reading List from Ibram X. Kendi
A community-created reading list through Chicago Public Library.

eResources

RESOURCES ON ANTI-RACISM + BLACK LIVES MATTER

Anti-Racism Resources
A Google Document recommending articles, podcasts, videos, books, and more with themes that support anti-racism.
Anti-Racist Resources
A Google Document that covers myriad topics to inform anti-racism learning.
Anti-Racist Resources and Education
A Google Drive with resources for anti-racist education featuring a table of contents document to help navigate everything.
Scaffolding Anti-Racism Resources
"This is a working document for scaffolding anti-racism resources. The goal is to facilitate growth for white folks to become allies, and eventually accomplices for anti-racist work. These resources have been ordered in an attempt to make them more accessible."
Antiracism Resources for White-led Organizations
A Google Document offering advice on "Group & Coalition-Building in an Anti-Oppression Framework."
Anti-Racism Resources for all ages. [A project of the Augusta Baker Endowed Chair at the University of South Carolina].
A compilation of resources to encourage people to do their antiracism research.
The 8 R’s of Talking About Race: How to Have Meaningful Conversations
A brief list of recommendations when learning about and discussing race (with more resources linked at the end).
Video Essays - Black Lives Matter
A Google Document with a growing list of video essays related to the Black Lives Matter movement.
Natl Resource List #GeorgeFloyd+
A Google Document that "...contains many of the community bail funds, memorial funds, political education resources, the names of organizations to put on your radar, and general advice/tips for people attending protests or using social media as an organizing tool."
Art + Feminism A George Floyd Uprisings Collaborative Resource List
A Google Doc that includes timely donation, petition, voter, and other resources.
Institutionalized Racism: A Syllabus
A JStor Daily article splitting recommended materials on institutionalized racism into three categories.
Anti-racist resources for architectural education
A Google Doc for educators and those interested in anti-racism in architecture.
Anti-racist resources for Art & Design education
A Google Doc for educators and those interested in anti-racism in art + design.
Black Radical Theories & Critical Race Studies
A Google Drive filled with readings organized by author.
Schomburg Center Black Liberation Reading List
"In response to the uprisings across the globe demanding justice for Black lives, the Schomburg Center has created a Black Liberation Reading List. The 95 titles on the list represent books we and the public turn to regularly as activists, students, archivists, and curators, with a particular focus on books by Black authors and those whose papers we steward."
1800+ Black Producers / Artists / Labels for Bandcamp Day
A Google Sheet listing producers, artists, and labels.
Blacks Who Design
Decentering Whiteness in Design History Resources [Google Document]
"This is a bibliography meant to help instructors of design history decenter whiteness in their classes. It’s a Google Doc and anyone is welcome to use it for non-commercial purposes: i.e., to share it, download it, contribute to it, participate in editing it, copy it, or repurpose it." Compiled by a group of White design historians in the USA working to decenter Whiteness in design history courses and in scholarly work.
Scholar Strike for Racial Justice Resources
Scholar Strike is an action inspired by the NBA, WNBA, Colin Kaepernick and other athletes, to underscore the urgent importance of addressing racism and injustice in the United States. This link is to a resource list from this group.

Collections on Black Experiences This link opens in a new window
The Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC) gathers information about archival collections held by member organizations that document African American and African diasporic culture, history, and politics, with a specific focus on materials relating to Chicago. The searchable database includes records about collections that were processed or surveyed through the BMRC's Survey Initiative and Color Curtain Processing Project programs, as well as finding aids contributed from our members about relevant materials in their repositories.

Black Women’s Suffrage
"The Black Women’s Suffrage Digital Collection is a collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960." "The materials in this collection include photographs, correspondence, speeches, event programs, publications, oral histories, and other artifacts."

These resources require SAIC Login:

Black Lives Matter Resource and Education Share - Google Document
"Campus Life and Multicultural Affairs have compiled this non-exhaustive collection to provide a list of resources, guides, and education supporting Black Lives Matter. This document is intended to be a starting point, and that the work begins with being informed. Only through using these resources, can we as allies begin to be accountable for our own education, and develop as anti-racist allies."

Black Studies in Video (North America) This link opens in a new window
Includes documentaries on leading artists, writers, musicians, playwrights, and performers. Includes the Hatch-Billops Collection, archive of primary and secondary materials focused on black American art, drama, and literature. Plus the SNCC archives, the NAACP archives, and archives from select Historically Black Colleges and Universities.

Daughters of the Dust by Geechee Girls
Publication Date: 1991
Streaming video available with ARTIC login
From Enforcers to Guardians by Hannah L. F. Cooper; Mindy Thompson Fullilove
ISBN: 9781421436456
Publication Date: 2020-01-14
eBook available with ARTIC login

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis) This link opens in a new window
More than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, 1970s to the present, including the New York Times full-text, international newspapers, and U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglas by Frederick Douglass
ISBN: 9781682280126
Publication Date: 2015-10-31
eBook available with ARTIC login
Tongues Untied by California Newsreel
Publication Date: 2008
Streaming video available with ARTIC login

ART

It Was A Rebellion [Broadcast Performance] by Sadie Woods
Call Number: [not a library item - link to outside resource]
Publication Date: 2018
Resisting Anti-Blackness in Ourselves and Our Communities by Moonroot
Call Number: [not a library item - link to outside resource]
Publication Date: 2015
On Confronting and Resisting Anti-Blackness in Ourselves & in Our Communities by Brown and Proud Press
Call Number: [not a library item - link to outside resource]
Publication Date: 2015

Creative Black Music At The Walker: Selections From The Archives
Living Collections Catalogue—Creative Black Music at the Walker: Selections from the Archives "[focusing] on a select group of influential black artists who came to the fore in the ’60s and ’70s and appeared at the Walker multiple times, each having an indelible impact on US musical culture."

ADDITIONAL LIBRARY GUIDES + READING LISTS

Cape Fear Community Colleges Library - Black Lives Matter: Race, Policing, and Protest Guide
Charles L. Tutt Library - Reading Against Racism Guide
Decker Library - Understanding Civic Unrest in Baltimore, 1968-2015
Holman Library - Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Culturally Responsive Education Guide: Anti-Racism
New York Times - "An Antiracist Reading List"
SAIC Flaxman Library - Post-Election Information (2016)
Simmons University Library - Anti-Oppression Guide

Physical Resources
While we can't be in the library right now, someday we will be. With that in mind, we are also capturing physical materials for you to explore once it is possible.

BOOKS ON ANTI-RACISM

Antiracism by Alex Zamalin
Call Number: Main Stacks E184.A1 Z36 2019
ISBN: 9781479822638
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi
Call Number: Main Stacks E184.A1 K344 2019
ISBN: 9780525509288
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Activist Scholarship by Julia Sudbury; Margo Okazawa-Rey
Call Number: Main Stacks HN18.3 .A38 2009
ISBN: 9781594516085
Publication Date: 2009-04-30
So You Want to Talk about Race by Ijeoma Oluo
Call Number: Main Stacks E184.A1 O454 2018
ISBN: 9781580056779
Publication Date: 2018-01-16

BOOKS ON THE BLACK LIVES MATTER MOVEMENT

The Making of Black Lives Matter by Christopher J. Lebron
Call Number: E185.615 .L393 2017
ISBN: 9780190601348
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Making All Black Lives Matter by Barbara Ransby
Call Number: E185.615 .R26 2018
ISBN: 9780520292703
Publication Date: 2018-08-28
From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation by Keeang-Yamahtta Taylor
Call Number: E185.86 T396 2016
ISBN: 9781608465620
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
They Can't Kill Us All by Wesley Lowery
Call Number: Main Stacks E185.86 .L69 2016
ISBN: 9780316312479
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
When They Call You a Terrorist by Patrisse Khan-Cullors; asha bandele
Call Number: Main Stacks E185.97.K43 A3 2018
ISBN: 1250171083
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Unapologetic by Charlene A. Carruthers
Call Number: Main Stacks HQ75.6.U5 C36 2018
ISBN: 9780807019412
Publication Date: 2018-08-28

ARTISTS' BOOKS + ZINES

Black & White Studies by Janelle Poe
Call Number: Zine 15.95
Publication Date: 2016
A Dozen Deaths by Nia Easley
Call Number: 108.38
Publication Date: 2015
The Negro Artist and the Racial Mountain by Autumn Thomas
Call Number: JFABC 35.15
Publication Date: 2013
What Happens After Gun Violence? by Kayla McClain
Call Number: Zine 24.12
Publication Date: 2019

FILMS + DOCUMENTARIES

The Black Panthers by Stanley Nelson
Call Number: DVD 4425
Publication Date: 2016
The Black Power Mixtape 1967-1975 a Documentary in 9 Chapters by Göran Hugo Olsson
Call Number: DVD 7752
Publication Date: 2011
This item is also available electronically: click here.
Lumumba by JBA production / Zeitgeist Films
Call Number: DVD 177
Publication Date: 2002

MORE RECOMMENDED READING

--FICTION--

Black Leopard, Red Wolf by Marlon James
Call Number: Main Stacks PR9265.9.J358 B58 2019
ISBN: 9780735220171
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Recommended on the SAIC Multicultural Affairs Learn more about Juneteenth post.
The Blacker the Berry ... by Wallace Thurman; Allyson Hobbs (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS3539.H957 B53 2018
ISBN: 9780143131878
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
Call Number: Storage - ask at front desk PS3563.O8749 B55 2000
ISBN: 0375411550
Publication Date: 1993-12-28
The Complete Fiction of Nella Larsen by Nella Larsen; Marita Golden (Foreword by); Charles Larson (Editor); Charles R. Larson (Editor)
Call Number: Storage - ask at front desk PS3523.A7225 A6 2001
ISBN: 9780385721004
Publication Date: 2001-11-06
Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
ISBN: 9781101971062
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Recommended on the SAIC Multicultural Affairs Learn more about Juneteenth post.
Notebook of a Return to the Native Land by Aimé Césaire; Clayton Eshleman (Translator); Annette Smith (Editor); André Breton (Introduction by); Aime Cesaire
Call Number: PQ3949.C44 C313 2001
ISBN: 9780819564528
Publication Date: 2001-09-24
Sister Outsider by Audre Lorde; Cheryl Clarke (Foreword by)
Call Number: Storage - ask at front desk PS3562.O75 S5 2007
ISBN: 9781580911863
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
The Street ; The Narrows by Ann Petry
Call Number: Main Stacks PS3531.E933 A6 2019
ISBN: 9781598536010
Publication Date: 2019-02-26
Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
Call Number: Storage - ask at front desk PS3515.U789 T5 1991
ISBN: 9780060838676
Publication Date: 2013-03-19

--NONFICTION--

Albert Murray by Albert Murray; Paul Devlin (Editor); Henry Gates (Editor)
Call Number: PS3563.U764 A6 2016
ISBN: 9781598535037
Publication Date: 2016-10-18
The Assassination of Fred Hampton by Jeffrey Haas
Call Number: Main Stacks HV6289.C4 H33 2011
ISBN: 9781569767092
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Malcolm X.
Call Number: Main Stacks E185.97.L5 A3 2001
ISBN: 9780141185439
Publication Date: 2001
Baldwin by James Baldwin; Toni Morrison (Contribution by, Editor)
Call Number: PS3552.A45 A16 1998
ISBN: 9781883011529
Publication Date: 1998-02-01
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
ISBN: 0812993543
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Recommended on the SAIC Multicultural Affairs Learn more about Juneteenth post.
Black Feminist Thought by Patricia Hill Collins
Call Number: Main Stacks HQ1426 .C633 2009
ISBN: 9780415964722
Publication Date: 2008-09-11
Black Marxism by Cedric J. Robinson
Call Number: HX436.5 |b .R63 2000
ISBN: 9780807848296
Publication Date: 2000-01-24
Black Power by Stokely S. Carmichael; Charles V. Hamilton; Kwame Ture
Call Number: E185.615 .C32 1992
ISBN: 9780679743132
Publication Date: 1992-11-10
Black Skin, White Masks by Frantz Fanon; Richard Philcox (Translator); Kwame Anthony Appiah (Foreword by)
Call Number: Main Stacks GN645 .F313 2008
ISBN: 9780802143006
Publication Date: 2008-09-10
The Condemnation of Blackness by Khalil Gibran Muhammad
Call Number: Main Stacks HV6197.U6 M85 2010
ISBN: 9780674035973
Publication Date: 2010-02-15
Eloquent Rage by Brittney Cooper
Call Number: Main Stacks HQ1413.C67 C67 2018
ISBN: 9781250112576
Publication Date: 2018-02-20
The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin
Call Number: Storage - ask at front desk E185.61 .B195 1993
ISBN: 9780679744726
Publication Date: 1992-12-01
How We Get Free by Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: Main Stacks HQ1426 .H689 2017
ISBN: 9781608468553
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
I Am Not Your Negro by James Baldwin; Raoul Peck
Call Number: Main Stacks E185.61 .B196 2017
ISBN: 9780525434696
Publication Date: 2017-02-07
The Light of Truth by Ida B. Wells; Mia Bay (Editor, Introduction by, Notes by); Henry Louis Gates (Editor)
Call Number: Main Stacks HV6457 .B362 2014
ISBN: 9780143106821
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
Redefining Realness by Janet Mock
Call Number: HQ77.8.M63 A3 2014
ISBN: 9781476709123
Publication Date: 2014-02-04
The Souls of Black Folk by W. E. B. Du Bois; Monica E. Elbert (Notes by); Ibram X. Kendi (Introduction by)
Call Number: Main Stacks E185.6 .D836 1996
ISBN: 9780140189988
Publication Date: 1996-04-01
A Testament of Hope by Martin Luther King
Call Number: Main Stacks E185.615 .J68 2007
ISBN: 9780060646912
Publication Date: 2003-04-29
Waiting 'Til the Midnight Hour by Peniel E. Joseph
Call Number: Main Stacks E185.615 .J68 2007
ISBN: 9780805083354
Publication Date: 2007-07-10
W. E. B. du Bois's Data Portraits by Whitney Battle-Baptiste, Britt Rusert (Editors)
Call Number: Main Stacks E185.86 .D846 2018
ISBN: 9781616897062
Publication Date: 2018-10-23

<< Previous: Reflecting + Revising: Anti-Racism and Black Lives Matter Rerelease
Next: Juneteenth (2020) >>