Research Guides: Flaxman's Pop Up Libraries: Juneteenth

A list to help you find materials about American black history in celebration of Juneteenth. We also recommend reviewing the Learn & Unlearn: Anti-racism Resource Guide for more resources and contemporary contexts. We welcome additional resource suggestions to flaxman@saic.edu!

Everything in this Virtual Pop-Up Library is digital.
Click here to see physical books on the Flaxman Library Juneteenth reading list.

START HERE

How to celebrate Juneteenth in Chicago [Webpage]
Choose Chicago's list of Juneteenth related celebrations happening in Chicago.
Juneteenth: Senses of Freedom: The Taste, Sound, and Experience of an African American Celebration [Website]
An extensive resource of videos, writing, and images to help you learn more about Juneteenth's history and its celebration created by the National Museum of African American History & Culture.
African American History Timeline [Webpage]
BlackPast, "This reference center with 7,398 posts is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and the history of more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world."

TABLE OF CONTENTS

New Resources
Learn About Juneteenth
Discover Artists Books
Explore American Black History

NEW RESOURCES

If you have looked at this Virtual Pop-Up Library before, check out these updates for Juneteenth 2024!

Ms. Opal Lee - the "Grandmother of Juneteenth" [Short Biography]
The Juneteenth Legacy Project

LEARN ABOUT JUNETEENTH

Juneteenth.com [Website]
Recommended on the SAIC Multicultural Affairs Learn more about Juneteenth post.
Learn About and Celebrate Juneteenth [PBS Resource]

So You Want to Learn About Juneteenth? [Article]
Derrick Bryson Taylor, New York Times, June 16, 2020. Recommended on the SAIC Multicultural Affairs Learn more about Juneteenth post.
"When Peace Come": Teaching the Significance of Juneteenth [Article]
Shennette Garrett-Scott, Rebecca Cummings Richardson and Venita Dillard-Allen, Black History Bulletin, 2013, Vol.76 (2), p.19-25
Juneteenth Flag [Wikipedia]
More Than Half of States Will Recognize Juneteenth as an Official Public Holiday in 2023
Katherine Schaffer, Pew Research Center, June 9, 2023

DISCOVER ARTISTS' BOOKS

Items on this list have a digital preview but are not fully digitized due to copyright. Make an appointment with the Joan Flasch Artists' Books Collection to see and read these books.

Fragments of the Peculiar Institution by Dread Scott
Call Number: Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection - USE IN 508 ONLY 89.59
Publication Date: 2016
Go-rilla Means War by Crystal Campbell
Call Number: Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection - USE IN 508 ONLY 134.92
Publication Date: 2018
The Life and Poems of Osceola Mays by Alan Govenar
Call Number: Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection - USE IN 508 ONLY 123.51
Publication Date: 1989
Long Slow March by Clifton Meador
Call Number: Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection - USE IN 508 ONLY 4.22
Publication Date: 1996
Things Stolen From POC by Work/Play (Art collective)
Call Number: Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection - USE IN 508 ONLY Zine 18.87

EXPLORE AMERICAN BLACK HISTORY

TIMELINES + WEBSITES

African-American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship [Digital Collection]
"This Special Presentation of the Library of Congress exhibition, The African-American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship, showcases the Library's incomparable African-American collections."
Black History Milestones: Timeline [Webpage]
History, April 2021

Ebony Magazine Archive (Google Books) This link opens in a new window

STREAMING VIDEO - DOCUMENTARIES + INTERVIEWS

American Hunger by Ephraim Asili
Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)
Publication Date: 2021
This item is part of Video Data Bank's collection.
19 minutes
The Black Power Mixtape 1967-1975 a Documentary in 9 Chapters by Göran Hugo Olsson
Call Number: DVD 7752
Publication Date: 2011
This item is also available electronically: click here.
Frantz Fanon: Black Skin, White Mask
Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)
Publication Date: 1996
70 minutes
Fred Hampton: Black Panthers in Chicago, 1969
Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)
Publication Date: 2019
This item is part of Video Data Bank's collection.
24 Minutes
Lessons : XXXI-LX by Martine Syms
Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)
Publication Date: 2020
"Sections 31-60 of an incomplete extended poem describing the artist's connection to the radical black tradition. The completed poem will be formed of 180 sections."
This item is part of Video Data Bank's collection.
15 Minutes
Pushout: The Criminalization of Black Girls in Schools
Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)
Publication Date: 2019
90 minutes

All-American News [Digital Collection]
A collection of newsreels produced by William D. Alexander, Claude Barnett and other African American filmmakers under the auspices of the U.S. Government's Office of War Information.
Blackside Productions' "Eyes on the Prize" full interviews [Digital Collection]
A series of interviews that trace the civil rights movement from the Montgomery bus boycott in 1954 to the Voting Rights Act in 1965.
Justice? [Video]
Black Journal, episode 32 (first broadcast: 1971-04-26). 61 minutes.

STREAMING VIDEO - FEATURE FILMS + SHORT FILMS

Within Our Gates [Video]
Oscar Micheaux's 1919 motion picture depicting the reality of racism as a response to D.W. Griffith's "The Birth of a Nation" (which was a fictional motion picture depicting the need for the Ku Klux Klan in the south). 80 minutes.

Afrofem by Tracie Morris
Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)
Publication Date: 1995
56 Minutes
Candyman
Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)
Publication Date: 2021
91 minutes
Do the Right Thing by Spike Lee
Call Number: DVDs - ask at front desk DVD 1626 Blu-ray
Publication Date: 1989
This item is also available as a DVD or electronically - click here for streaming video.
125 Minutes
Get Out
Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)
Publication Date: 2017
104 minutes
Killer of Sheep
Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)
Publication Date: 1978
81 minutes
Us
Call Number: Streaming video (SAIC login required)
Publication Date: 2019
121 minutes

AUDIO

Historian Eric Foner On The 'Unresolved Legacy Of Reconstruction' [Podcast Episode]
NPR's Fresh Air, June 5, 2020. 33 minutes.
*Please note: This resource does provide transcripts of audio works as of the last update of this list.
What does slavery have to do with it? [Podcast Episode]
TEDx SHORTS, June 8, 2020. 10 minutes.
*Please note: This resource does not provide transcripts of audio works as of the last update of this list.

ARTICLES + WEBPAGES