Flaxman's Pop Up Libraries

Learn about and celebrate LGBTQIA+ history, stories, and creators with resources on this virtual pop-up library! If you have any suggestions, we welcome them via email: flaxman@saic.edu This Virtual Pop-Up Guide was last updated September 2024.

Start Here

Navigation

• Learn: LGBTQIA+ History
• Explore: LGBTQIA+ Studies and Stories
• Discover: LGBTQIA+ Art
• SAIC Special Collections: LGBTQIA+ Materials
• Connect: LGBTQIA+ Institutions and Organizations

Learn: LGBTQIA+ History

Chicago History

• Chicago Gay and Lesbian History 1924-1979 [Online Exhibition]
  Gerber/Hart Library and Archives
• Chicago: Queer Histories at the Crossroads of America [Chapter]
  Jessica Herczeg-Konecny, LGBTQ America: A Theme Study of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer History, edited by Megan E. Springate for the U.S. National Park Foundation and the National Park Service. 
• Chicago LGBT Hall of Fame Inductees [Webpage]

• Unboxing Queer History [8 Episode Podcast]
  Gerber/Hart Library and Archives. Please note: This podcast does NOT provide episode transcripts as of the last update of this list.

Video

Audio

• History is Gay [Podcast]
  Please note: As of the last update of this list only a few episodes are fully transcribed. Transcriptions are available here.
• Making Gay History [Podcast]
  Please note: This podcast does provide episode transcripts as of the last update of this list.
• One From the Vaults [A Trans History Podcast]
  Please note:  This podcast does not provide episode transcripts as of the last update of this list.
• Queer America [Podcast]
  Please note: This podcast does provide episode transcripts as of the last update of this list.

Digital Collections, Archives, and Libraries

• Digital Transgender Archive [Internet Archive]
• Digital Transgender Archive (DTA)
• LGBTQ Activism and Contributions [Library of Congress Primary Source Set]
• LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive [Library of Congress Digital Collection]

Social Media Accounts

• @RainbowHistoryClass on TikTok

Books

Explore: LGBTQIA+ Studies and Stories

Chicago Stories

Social Media

• @transmascstudies on Instagram

Audio

Digital Map Projects

Video

• It Gets Better Project Webseries
  Explore a collection of over 60,000 videos of stories contributed by the public as well as It Gets Better original content. Check out these highlights:

Discover: LGBTQIA+ Art

Social Media

• @strangefirecollective on Instagram

Websites and Collections

• Authority Collective
  The Authority Collective is a group of 300+ women, non-binary, and gender expansive people of color working in the photography, film and VR/AR industries.
• Prism Comics Articles
  Non-profit organization supporting lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, intersex, asexual and LGBTQIA-friendly comic books, comics professionals, readers and educators.

Audio

Video

• Not Seeing Straight: Celebrating Queer Art & Lives
  Explore a a playlist of three videos focused on Queer art history and contemporary art. Check out this highlight:

Books

SAIC Special Collections: LGBTQIA+ Materials

Joan Flasch Artists' Books Collection

Video Data Bank Streaming Videos (SAIC Login Required)

Fashion Resource Center Materials

Connect: LGBTQIA+ Institutions, Organizations, and Services

Chicago / IL

National