Research Guides: Flaxman's Pop Up Libraries: Israeli-Palestinian Conflict Resource Guide

Israeli-Palestinian Conflict Resource Guide

Embarking on self-education can be daunting. This selection of resources regarding history, news, artists, and organizations relevant to the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict are here to help whether you are new to these topics or are ready to dive deeper. If you aren't sure where to start, we've highlighted a resource from each sub-section under Get Started.

Please be aware that this is a rapidly changing situation, and information will be updated in as timely a manner as possible. As news continues to come out, it is important to question sources, and synthesize information from multiple perspectives. For evaluation strategies, check out our colleagues' guides on Lateral Reading and ACT UP.

This virtual pop-up library was curated by members of the SAIC community and Flaxman Librarians. We welcome you to email flaxman@saic.edu to suggest additions. This guide was last updated 12.8.2023

Navigation

Get Started
Look Back: Israel + Palestine History
Take Stock: Israeli-Palestinian Current Conflict
Honor + Discover: Artists of the Region
Connect: Other Institutions, Organizations, and Projects

Get Started

Look Back: Origins of the Israel-Palestine Conflict [Podcast Episode]
The Empire Podcast, 3/28/2023. NO transcript provided.
Take Stock: United Nations' Israel-Gaza Crisis Webpage
Honor + Discover: Palestinian Voices [Video Program]
A free program from the Arab Film and Media Institute to provide insight into the current situation unfolding in Gaza and the people being affected running through the end of 2023.

Look Back: Israel + Palestine History

Video

Audio

How a contested history feeds the Israel-Palestine conflict [Podcast Episode]
Full Story Podcast, The Guardian, 10/24/2023. NO transcript provided.
1948 [Podcast Episode]
The Daily Podcast, New York Times,11/3/2023. TRANSCRIPT PROVIDED.

Books + Articles

Understanding the history of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in 5 charts [article]
Matt Garrow, The Conversation, 10/24/2023
Israel and Palestine: A Complete Guide to the Crisis [article]
The Guardian, last updated 11/16/2023
The Question of Palestine [timeline]
The United Nations, accessed 11/10/2023

Fact Sheet: Israel and Palestine Conflict [Report]
ACLED, last updated 10/31/2023
Israel-Hamas War: Timeline and key developments [Article]
ABC News
History of the Israel-Palestine conflict – Part 3 (Aftermath of the October 7 attack) [Podcast Episode]
In Focus Podcast, October 25, 2023 | Please note that this podcast DOES NOT offer a transcript of this episode.
What Is Hamas? [Article]
Sam Meredith, CNBC, 10/10/2023
United Nations' Israel-Gaza Crisis Webpage

On the Ground

Israel-Hamas war: 16 sources to follow to find out what's happening in Gaza
Becca Monaghan, Indy100, 11/3/2023

News Coverage

Books + Articles

Article: Israeli-Palestinian Conflict by the Center for Preventive Action, published 11/6/2023

Video

Foragers, Jumana Manna, 2022. (SAIC Login Required)
Emily Jacir Visiting Artist Program Lecture recording, 2004. (SAIC Login Required)
Let It Be Morning, Eran Kolirin, 2023. (Learn more using this Wikipedia page)
Infiltrators, Khaled Jarrar (Director), 2012. (SAIC Login Required)

Audio

PalArt Collective Podcast
A group of international artists, writers, filmmakers, activists, entertainers, humanitarian workers and academics committed to increasing the number of Palestinian voices and stories in the arts and media.
Musicians for Palestine Podcast

Books + Misc. Reading

Poems From Palestine, The Baffler, June 1, 2021

Items from SAIC Special Collections

Country of Words: A Transnational Atlas for Palestinian Literature
Born-digital project that retraces the global story of Palestinian literature in the twentieth century (primary sources, data visualizations, and multimedia materials)
The Historical Jewish Press digital collection
Collection of Jewish newspapers from various countries, time periods, and languages
The Jerusalem Cinematheque’s Israel Film Archive
Archive of original Israeli narrative and documentary film work from the late 19th century to present day
Nakba Archive
Grassroots oral history collective founded in 2002 to record and commemorate the experiences of Palestinian refugees in Lebanon who lived through the Nakba.
The Palestine Poster Project Archives
Digital collection of more than 17,000 Palestine posters
Washington Institute’s Settlements and Solutions Project
Web-based geographic database that explores the distribution of Israeli settlements in the West Bank