Visual Resources Center
Located in room 507 of the Sharp Building the MacLean Visual Resources Center, now managed by the Flaxman Library, is available to assist SAIC faculty to identify and gather digital visual images.
MDID@SAIC
Maintained and devleoped by the VRC for faculty use. Contact us for training or digitization requests.
Hours:
Mon - Fri: 8:45am - 5:00pm
Sat - Sun: CLOSED
MacLean Visual Resources Center
37 South Wabash Ave, 5th Floor
Chicago, IL 60603-3103
phone: 312.899.1224
Send Email
Art image databases
- ARTstor Images of paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, photographs, and decorative arts from around the world. 95% of ARTstor images are 1024 pixels on the long side.
- Art Institute of Chicago CollectionSmall but growing portion of the Art Institute's permanent collection. Includes images and basic information about works of art representing all areas of the collection.
- Saskia Art Images Collection 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections. 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthisto
- Britannica Image Quest
- CARLI Digital Collections Digital art images encompassing Western and Eastern civilizations.
- MDID (MacLean Visual Resources Center) Images for lectures at the School of the Art Institute. See MacLean Visual Resources Center/Slide Library for instructions and login.
- Oxford Art: Search Art Image LinksOffers encyclopedic coverage of all aspects of fine and applied arts, architecture, and artists and architects biographies.
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic NovelsFirst ever scholarly, primary source on adult comic books and graphic novels. Begins with the first underground comix (1960s) to the works of modern sequential artists, and contains more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, plus interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.
Ask Us |
Contact Info Holly Dankert or Jenn Smith John M. Flaxman Library School of the Art Institute of Chicago 37 S. Wabash, 6th floor Chicago IL 60603 312.899.5096 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
