Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Learning with Online Library Resources

Banner reading Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection

Using the Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection (JFABC) Off Campus

-What is the Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection (JFABC)?-

The Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection (JFABC) brings together over eleven thousand artists’ publications in all formats and media including: books, zines, multiples, video and audio recordings, digital works, periodicals, and other unique works of art created by artists of local, national, and international significance. Focusing on materials published from the 1960s to the present, it is complemented by collections of reference works and exhibition catalogues to support in-depth research on artists’ publishing.‌
 

Exploring the Collection Off Campus-

The JFABC digital library is an online guide and finding aid for the rich collection of artists’ publications available in Flaxman Library Special Collections, bringing together publications in all formats and media including: books, zines, multiples, video and audio recordings, digital works, periodicals, and other intimate works of art created by artists of local, national, and international significance. Follow the directions below to access the collection off campus:

JFABC_DigCol_Search.gif
  1. Go to saic.edu/library
    - Select the Digital Collections tab on the left side menu
    - Select 'Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection'
    OR go directly to https://digitalcollections.saic.edu/jfabc
  2. The search is automatically set to the Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection, so do a keyword search and select the magnifying glass icon to get your results
  3. Note the filters on the left (date range, materials, etc.) that can help narrow your search results
  4. Clicking an object's title in the list of results will give you an extensive amount of information about just that object
  5. Each record includes helpful images which can be expanded in size using the view options that appear if you hover over the image
    **If there are more than one image, they appear on the right side navigation
  6. If you are interested in a specific aspect of this item (ie: material, binding, etc. ) you can select any hyperlinked term in that item's record to redo a search just for that keyword within all of the Digital Collections
     
-Remote Services: Research + Virtual Classroom Visits-

Access
JFABC staff can build a slideshow presentation of artists’ publications based on topics you wish to share with your class. Please email jfabc@saic.edu to discuss the topics relevant to your class.

Critiques
Classes working on artists’ publications can request JFABC staff for virtual critiques of your student’s work through Zoom or Google Hangouts. Critiques are available for individuals or groups.

Publication Clinics
Need help with a book or publication you're working on? Present your work and get feedback. JFABC Staff will continue to offer Publication Clinics throughout the summer by appointment only in a Zoom meeting format. Open to all students and faculty. Please email April at asheridan@saic.edu for the Zoom meeting code. 

Reference services
JFABC staff are available for reference questions and consultations. Please email jfabc@saic.edu.

JFABC Online Resources
Updated LibGuide for Artists’ Book Resources including Material Resources.
 

-Who to Contact-

Please continue to reach out if there’s anything the staff can assist you with during this time. We may not have the books in hand, but we still have knowledge that can be shared! Any and all questions about the Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection, its digital collections, or its remote services can be directed to: jfabc@saic.edu