Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Learning with Online Library Resources

video data bank banner

Using the Video Data Bank (VDB) Off Campus

-What is the Video Data Bank (VDB)?-

Founded at the SAIC in 1976 at the inception of the media arts movement, Video Data Bank (VDB) is a leading resource in the United States for video by and about contemporary artists. The VDB’s collection has grown to include the work of more than 600 artists and 6,000 video art titles. VDB is dedicated to fostering awareness and scholarship of the history and contemporary practice of video and media art through its distribution, education, and preservation programs.
 

-Exploring the Collection Off Campus-
  • Search the archive on VDB’s website at vdb.org. Search by artist/title or by collection, including new releases, compilations, early video art, and the On Art & Artists interview collection. 
  • Watch videos in the VDB collection free on VDB TV (vdb.org/tv), where you can find exciting programming that is updated every few weeks. 
  • VDB utilizes SAIC’s video streaming platform Panopto to host videos in the collection viewable to the SAIC community. Please see our Panopto guide, and contact us at info@vdb.org to request a title be uploaded for your class.
  • Read commissioned essays by artists, critics, and writers on vdb.org, as well as VDB Asks… interviews with artists in the collection.
     
-Remote Services: Research + Virtual Classroom Visits-

If you would like to have a VDB staff member give a virtual class tour, please contact us at info@vdb.org to arrange the visit. Virtual classroom visits to provide an overview of the VDB and its resources, including VDB history, information on archiving and preservation, VDB's business model, video art and performance. We will also include recommendations of video viewing for your class on Panopto
 

-Who to Contact-

Any and all questions about the Video Data Bank, its digital collections, or its remote services can be directed to: info@vdb.org.