Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Learning with Online Library Resources

Pink banner reading, "Linking to Library Resources & Databases"

-Off-Campus Access & OpenAthens-

The easiest way to access and share electronic library resources from off-campus is to use the library website (see the sections below for how best to do this). You will be prompted to sign in using your ARTIC login when you connect to a database, ejournal, article, ebook, streaming video, etc. through this method. We use a product called OpenAthens (which replaced EZProxy in June 2021) to create these connections. If you have an existing link that contains ‘proxy.artic.edu’ you will need to change it to an OpenAthens link. See instructions for "Linking to ebooks, ejournals, articles" below.  

-Permalinks-

Permalinks are the easiest way to link to library resources in Canvas, reading lists, websites, and email. A permalink is a URL or web address that will consistently point to a specific library resource such as an article, ebook, ejournal, streaming video, database, or record in a database.

Why use permalinks:

  • URLs or links in the address bar of your browser may be session-based or search-based and not work when copied and used another time.
  • Linking to licensed library resources in Canvas is copyright compliant. Linking is recommended over posting digital copies of full articles or chapters.
  • Linking allows library use to be counted. We gather usage statistics and consider usage when making decisions about journal or database cancellations.

-Linking to Ebooks, Ejournals, Articles-

Start from the Library homepage and use the Library Search box to search for the resource. (See our How to Find Resources guide for instructions on using library resources by type.) After you find the resource you need, click on the name to see the description. Look for the Permalink button under the resource's information, click and copy.

undefined

If you are searching within a library database and want to link to a database record for an article or book, look for a permalink, stable URL, or a share link. Most databases provide a link that will bring you back to the record in the database.

-Linking to Streaming Video-

Below are details for linking to specific streaming video services and databases.

Share or Embed link

  • For videos from: Artfilms, Kanopy, Panopto, Swank
  • Use the Share or Embed feature within each database to get a shareable link
  • On the page for the specific video, click the Share link or symbol share icon
  • Or choose Embed if you want code to paste into a Canvas course
  • Copy the link

OpenAthens Link Generator

  • For videos from: Alexander Street, Criterion Pictures, Dis.art, Docuseek2, EAI, OnArchitecture, OntheBoards.tv
  • Use the OpenAthens Link Generator
  • Copy the URL from the address bar of your browse (for these databases, it’s okay, really!)
  • NOTE: for Alexander Street and Docuseek2, there is a permalink option that doesn't include the OpenAthens code; use that permalink in the OpenAthens Link Generator to create a link that prompts for the ARTIC login. If you share the link as is, you will be prompted to search for School of the Art Institute on the Docuseek2 login page.

Flaxman Catalog Permalink

  • If a streaming video is in the Flaxman Catalog or Library Search, use the permalink to the catalog record.
  • See the Linking to Ebooks, Ejournals, Articles instructions above for details.

-Linking to Databases-

On the Databases A-Z list, click on the Share icon share icon to the right of the database name and use the URL that appears in the popup window. This URL will connect you (or others with the ARTIC login if you are sharing the link) from off campus.

-Manually Creating OpenAthens Links Directly to Resources-

We highly recommend just sharing the permalink to the library resource through the method above for the easiest experience. However you can manually create an OpenAthens link, but only if:  

  • It is not a link from Panopto, Kanopy, EBSCO, ProQuest or Gale/Cengage.
  • It is not a permalink from the library search or Flaxman catalog.
  • It does not already have “openathens” in the URL.
  • If it is any of the above, you do not need to use the OpenAthens Link Generator

Use the OpenAthens Link Generator to direct links to articles in JSTOR and ProjectMUSE. These databases provide short links to content that requires a way to identify your college library.

If you have an older link that includes "proxy.artic.edu" in the URL, you would need to get the URL from the database or e-resource without that phrase before creating an OpenAthens enabled (athenized) link. If you have questions about the best link to use, please email us at flaxman@saic.edu.

 

-Databases that do not use the OpenAthens in the URL-

The databases listed below use OpenAthens to connect you to resources available through the library; however, “openathens” does not appear in the URL. Creating URLs directly to resources inside of these databases will not work with the OpenAthens Link Generator. It is still easiest to share resource links using the methods outlined in the “Linking to Electronic Library Resources” section of this page.

However, if you would like to create a direct link to resources in the databases below, the easiest method is to look for a Permalink, stable URL, or share link inside of the database itself (remember never to use the link in the address bar of your browser). You can also manually create links, but this can be more complicated. The table below provides the steps required to manually create shareable links should you choose to pursue that option instead. 

Platform Steps Needed Example URL
EBSCO 
when URL begins with "search.ebscohost.com"
Remove any existing "authtype" or "custid".
Replace it with "&authtype=ip,shib&custid=s6661217”
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,sso&custid=s6661217&groupid=main&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Gale URL should include "flaxman" https://infotrac.gale.com/itweb/flaxman?db=NGMA
Kanopy URL should include "saic" https://saic.kanopy.com/
ProQuest
when URL begins with "search.proquest.com"
URL should include "?accountid=26320" https://search.proquest.com/usmajordailies/advanced?accountid=26320
ProQuest Ebook Central You should use the Permalink from the Library Search box https://i-share-sai.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CARLI_SAI/1749spm/alma9937270908605886

Translates to this URL: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/saic/detail.action?docID=6284413

 

-Alternative Login Screens-

If you have followed a link and are not already signed into a Flaxman Library resource, you can still log into library resources by finding SAIC through the OpenAthens login screen.  

  • Use Find your Institution on the right and type School of the Art Institute of Chicago
  • Select the link and it will prompt you for your ARTIC login

 

-Using OpenAthens on Publisher Sites-

On many publisher websites, you will see a Login button. Log in using the Institutional Login or OpenAthens Login (wording will vary by publisher), select School of the Art Institute of Chicago from the institution list and login with your ARTIC username and password. If you are asked to select a federation, please select OpenAthens Federation.

  • Whenever possible, access the Libraries' online resources from the Library Search box or from the Databases A-Z list.
  • If you are on a publisher website and did not go through the library to get there, you can log in using the Institutional Login. Select School of the Art Institute of Chicago from the institution list.
  • Troubleshooting: browser caching can cause problems, try clearing the browser cache and restarting the browser, or try using a different browser. If you are having trouble off-campus, please email us at flaxman@saic.edu.

OpenAthens uses cookies to remember your device’s IP address. If you change web browsers or devices you will be asked to login again. Generally the OpenAthens browser cookie expires every eight hours and then you'll have to login again.