Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Learning with Online Library Resources

roger brown study collection banner

Using the Roger Brown Study Collection (RBSC) Off Campus

-What is the Roger Brown Study Collection (RBSC)?-

The Roger Brown Study Collection (RBSC) is an SAIC special collection that exists as an artists’ study collection and archive, preserved intact in a historic house museum setting. The RBSC is an intimate collection with an astonishing range of objects, including works by Chicago Imagists and other contemporary artists, self-taught artists, folk and tribal art from many cultures, objects from material and popular culture, costumes, textiles, furniture, travel souvenirs, and other things Brown surrounded himself with for artistic inspiration.
 

-Exploring the Collection Off Campus-

Online resources (which appear on the RBSC homepage) include:
Roger Brown artworks online database
Roger Brown sketchbooks
RBSC Virtual Tour - NEW!
RBSC Vimeo
RBSC YouTube
RBSC keyhole video tour
Roger Brown video walk through
RBSC Flickr image database
Coming soon: RBSC Archive Finding Aid
 

-Remote Services: Research + Virtual Classroom Visits-

RBSC staff are currently developing an RBSC Canvas site for faculty, which will include orientation slide presentations and other recorded slideshows, as well as a Virtual Tour Video of the RBSC, short videos about specific objects, and short videos about specific Roger Brown works.*
 
Virtual classroom visits may be requested at rbsc@saic.edu and will be scheduled based on staff availability.
 
We are working to provide online access to RBSC databases, including the Master RBSC Collection, Roger Brown Catalogue Raisonné, RBSC Library, and Roger Brown Photographs, and RBSC Flatfiles (prints and works on paper) databases.*

*Please email rbsc@saic.edu if you are interested in receiving an update when any materials being developed are available. 
 

-Who to Contact-

Any and all questions about the Roger Brown Study Collection, its digital collections, or its remote services can be directed to: rbsc@saic.edu