.Readings for Artists During COVID-19.
Arts Educator Resources for Remote Teaching, Learning, & Research Google Doc
- Google Doc with links to resources to support arts library workers and communities in a time of social distancing and pandemic.
.Telehealth Services.
- iHope Network - Videoconferencing therapy that is covered by many major health insurance companies, including Brandeis Health Insurance.
- BetterHelp - Largest online counseling platform worldwide. They provide convenient, discreet and affordable access to a licensed therapist.
- TalkSpace - Over 1000+ licensed counselors available to offer therapy to the LGBTQ community. Offers a free consultation.
.Peer Support.
.Provider Databases
- Psychology Today - One of the largest databases of therapists in the US, Europe, Asia Pacific, South America, and South Africa. Search by insurance type, specialty, location, and more.
- National Queer and Trans Therapists of Color Network (TQTTCN) - Provides a network where therapists can deepen their analysis of healing justice and where queer and trans people of color can connect to care. Check out their directory for LGBTQ clinicians of color in your area.
- Therapy for Black Girls - Therapy for Black Girls is an online space and therapist directory dedicated to encouraging the mental wellness of Black women and girls. Though it specifies "women and girls", may be worth checking out for non-binary folks.
- InnoPsych - Online database featuring clinicians of color across the country. Can search based on specialty, insurance, service type, and preferred ethnicity.
- Open Path Collective - Offers single sessions for $30 (and less depending on need) + an application fee (which is a one time charge of $60 which gives membership for life).
.Emergency Services.
- Trans Lifeline - Trans-led, peer support hotline, 877-565-8860.
- Trevor Project - A national 24-hour, toll free confidential suicide hotline for LGBTQ youth. 1-866-488-7386 or Text START to 678678.
.Depression and Anxiety Apps.
- SAM - SAM is an application to help you understand and manage anxiety. The app has been developed in collaboration with a research team from UWE, Bristol.
- MindShift - MindShift™ CBT uses scientifically proven strategies based on Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) to help you learn to relax and be mindful, develop more effective ways of thinking, and use active steps to take charge of your anxiety.
- CBT Thought Diary - With this thought diary, when you're feeling down you can document your negative emotions, analyze patterns in your thinking, and reevaluate your thoughts. It may even help you recognize ways to deal with your unhelpful patterns of thinking.
- WoeBot - Get hundreds of expert-crafted tools to learn about yourself and improve your mood whenever you need them. Free, but contents are limited. Upgrade to premium for more options.
- Anti-Stress Relaxation Toys - When you need relaxation, diversion or just a moment of distraction enjoy this collection of toys: hear the sound of a bamboo chime, play with wooden boxes, swipe gently your finger in the water, tap buttons, draw with chalks and so on.
- PTSD Coach - PTSD Coach was designed for those who have, or may have, posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). This app provides you with education about PTSD, information about professional care, a self-assessment for PTSD, opportunities to find support, and tools that can help you manage the stresses of daily life with PTSD.
.Meditation & Affirmation Apps.
- Calm - Free app offering calming music, video lessons on mindful movement and gentle stretching, and meditations to help keep you calm and relaxed.
- Insight Timer - Free meditation app for sleep, anxiety, and stress. I especially recommend Manoj Dias.
- Liberate - Free meditation app by and for the Black & African Diaspora. Meditation categories include ancestors, love, self worth, gratitude, microaggressions, mindfulness, and more.
- I Am - Positive Affirmations - How many negative thoughts have been endlessly repeating in your mind? Daily affirmations help rewire our brains, build self esteem and change negative thought patterns. Choose from many daily intentions and set reminders to be delivered throughout the day.
- Mantra - Nothing is more uplifting than self-told words. The latest researches indicate that using positive mantras decreases stress and improves performance on challenging duties. More than 10000+ affirmations from 10 different categories.
.Instagram
There are many therapists and healers that are Black, Indigenous and People of Color (BIPOC) and/or LGBTQ on Instagram that offer daily affirmations, psychoeducation, and general insights. Some of these (such as @latinxtherapy & @alex_elle) also have podcasts. I do not recommend this as a replacement for therapy, but as a complimenting resource to regular care.
.Webinars from Adler University Faculty.
